McLaughlin Defends Trail Title


Twenty-two athletes from Colorado competed in the 2021 USATF Marathon Trail Championships in Moab, Utah.  The championships were hosted by the Moab Trail Marathon for the ninth year in a row.  Coloradans combined to win six national (open and masters) titles and place a total of four women and six men in the top ten.  The high level of competition also brought out some of the fastest times in course history, with an unprecedented three men under three hours and six women under four hours.

In the women’s race Allie McLaughlin, 31, of Colorado Springs defended the title she won last year and lead three other Coloradans to top five finishes.  Her time of 3:30:15 was over six minutes faster than in 2020 and over eight minutes ahead of runner-up Samantha Lewis of Idaho.  Fellow Coloradan Ashley Brasovan (30, Golden) duplicated her third place finish from last year as she ran 3:42:18 this year.  She was closely followed across the line by Stevie Kremer, 37, of Crested Butte and Janelle Lincks, 28, of Thornton who finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Kremer ran 3:42:44 and Lincks followed her across the line just five seconds later.

In the men’s race Coloradans finished third, fourth, and fifth and won three masters titles. Eli Hemming, 26, of Louisville, Brian Whitfield, 25 of Wheat Ridge, and Jeshurun Small, 23, of Gunnison finished third, fourth, and fifth respectively.  Hemming ran 2:59:09 with Whitfield stopping clock at 3:04:19 and Small trailing Whitfield by just 18 seconds in 3:04:37.  The race was won by Adam Adam Peterman of Montana in 2:51:41.  Two weeks earlier Whitfield defeated Hemming by just 10 seconds at the Colorado 25 km Championships in Colorado Springs.  Alson nabbing top-ten finishes were Joseph DeMoor (8th, 3:16:24), 31, of Carbondale; Jeff Cuno (9th, 3:16:59), 26, of Gypsum; and Galen Burrell (10th, 3:26:51), 42, of Boulder.

Read more at:

You might also like

Follow us on social media