Secondary Menu

Colorado Running Hall of Fame Officially Established

The Colorado Running Hall of Fame (CRHF) today announced its first ever call for nominations. The establishment of the CRHF was undertaken by the Colfax Marathon Partnership, Inc. in October 2006. The intent of the Marathon was to facilitate and guide the creation and activation of the CRHF.

Colorado has one of the highest concentrations of world and American record holders and Olympic and world championship medal winners in the nation. The establishment of the CRHF recognizes Colorado residents who have achieved national and international recognition on the long-distance running stage.

The CRHF Selection Committee is composed of significant people from the running community with diverse professional histories who meet the selection criteria for the Hall of Fame:

Mark Plaatjes
South African born
Owner of physical therapy clinic in Boulder, Colorado
Co-founder of Boulder Running Company
First American to win a gold medal in a long-distance event at 1993 World Championships

David Nestor
Active masters marathoner
Member of Colfax Marathon, Inc. Board of Directors
Retired retail owner of Foothills Lighting
Owner of LightShine–designer lighting studio
Community Activist

Ellen Hart-Pena
Former outstanding female distance runner for U.S.
One of Colorado’s finest female long-distance runners
Supporter of Colorado Colfax Marathon since inception
Showcased on the cover of Runner’s World
Former first lady of Denver

John Raveling
Successful long-distance runner
Leader in Denver running community for over 20 years
Owner of Boulder Running Company in Littleton, Colorado

John Tope
Colfax Marathon elite athlete coordinator
National elite athlete coordinator for over 25 years
Has served Boston, New York, Cleveland, and many other marathons

Peter Julian
Former elite runner
Numerous collegiate and national outstanding performances
Currently cross country coach at Metro State College, Denver
Local director of 2006 national cross country championships, Boulder

Nominations will be accepted from February 19, 2007 through March 16, 2007. The CRHF Selection Committee will convene to commence the selection process on March 21, 2007.

Please go to to complete a nomination form.